New Independent Group in the Commons

19 Feb 2019 18:00 | LCER

You will have heard that seven Labour MPs have left the Party. This is sad and takes the pressure off the Government at a time when we need alternatives to a NO Deal Brexit. It is interesting that most of them are supporters of first past the post. Luciana Berger, Chris Leslie, Gavin Shuker and Angela Smith are on record as opposing electoral reform. Mike Gapes voted for Alternative Vote in the Referendum in 2011 but opposed PR. Ann Coffey was a sponsor of LCER in 1997 but hasn’t been active recently. Chuka Umunna inspired the relaunch of LCER in 2017 and has appeared on many platforms being our Vice Chair at that time. We thank him for all the work he has done to draw attention to our broken politics and the need to change our voting system. We still have more in common than what divides us except tactics.


By post: 334 Mutton Lane, Potters Bar EN6 2AX


Copyright © LCER



Campaigning for Labour to back proportional representation

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software